Thursday, March 13, 2008

About 3 weeks ago, I was in REI looking for shoes I might take for the trip to Europe. As I stood there, in front of 30 pairs of shoes -- of every make, model and purpose -- I noticed another fellow doing the same thing. I said something like "well, what to buy, there's so much here". We started talking and before I knew it, we were sharing the purpose of our visit to REI. Gareth, the young mans name, was looking for shoes for a trip as well. He is going to take a "walk about around the world"! He is taking a year off, putting his furniture into storage, giving up his apartment and will be back-packing throughout much of the world. After I described my purpose for being there, we started comparing notes. What to buy, what to take, how much weight to carry, how to travel. It was great meeting a kindred spirit.

On Wednesday, March 13th, I received an "I've Arrived" email from Gareth. He was in New Zealand and on his way. He pointed me to his blog as a way to keep in touch with his progress. I noticed on Gareth's blog that he could notate his location using google maps. I thought I'd try the same thing, and during my trip around Europe, I will post my location from time to time. As a test, here's my "home" location in Castro Valley California. Just click on the link HERE and see it on a google map. Neat huh?

So, keep an eye for these links during the months of May and June 08. You'll join me, virtually anyway.

Au Revoir Mes Amis!
Time marches on. It's March 13th and I'm still readying myself for 2 months in Europe. My friend, Gareth, has left on his world-wide walk-about and is now in Auckland. His blog is if you're interested in following his progress.

Meanwhile, I've packed up my backpack and have been schlepping it around the house, trying to get used to it. So, as I work my way through the day I wonder -- am I nuts -- or WHAT!! Two months wandering around Europe with a 30# backpack on my back -- at my age?!! Y-E-S. I'm gonna do it and have fun in the process.

One change I've made is to leave and then arrive back in the U.S. from LAX (Los Angeles) as opposed to San Francisco. This way, I'll be able to leave my car in Jennifer's garage while I'm gone for 2 1/2 months. I've also thought that I'd have a property manager check my house a couple of times a week during my absence. It'll cost me a couple of $$, but I figure it's worth it. So what this means is that when I go down to L.A. on April 15th (or so), I will being leaving until July 2nd. I guess I'd better make a check list -- and check it twice!

So, that's all for now.

Hasta la vista -- Amigo(a)